Lydiard House and Park
The Palladian house, beautiful church, formal parkland and surrounding pasture are the striking remains of a great country estate which reached its peak in the 18th Century. Rescued from ruin by the Swindon Corporation in 1943.
The house is beautifully restored and opened to the public in the 1950s. In 2005, work began on a £5 million landscape restoration project, supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund.
To date, many significant 18th Century landscape and architectural features have been restored including:
- re-instating the lost lake
- renovating the Grade II listed Coach House
- restoring ice house and castellated dam wall
- and returning the 18th Century ornamental fruit and flower Walled Garden to its former glory.
Open all year round, Lydiard Park includes the striking Palladian house with the ground floor State Rooms open to the public, with it's original furnishings, ornate plasterwork and family portraits. Next door, St Mary's Church is packed with intriguing monuments to the St John family including the unique triptych and Golden Cavalier statue. The ornamental fruit and flower Walled Garden built in the 1740s to provide the St John family with a peaceful, sheltered garden to stroll has been faithfully restored with stunning displays of flowers, fruit trees and topiary.
The grounds are open every day and entry is free. Towering Lebanese cedars, the lakes, ancient avenues and carriageways, an ice house and views of the Palladian house reveal the St John's grand designs at Lydiard Park. Rolling lawns and shady trees provide pretty, picnicking areas in the summer or you can hire one of our BBQs. The Forest Café is open daily serving tempting snacks and drinks. Next to the café, the huge children's play area, with modern swinging and climbing equipment, offers lots of active play for children of all ages. Wide, accessible pathways open up this 260 acre site to walkers, joggers, cyclists and wheelchair users.
Please telephone for latest prices.
Lydiard House & Park